Animal Shelter Advisory Committee


  • Three times per year (as needed)
  • City Council Workroom
    206 N. Murphy Road
    Murphy, TX 75094


  • Dr. Anne Fraser Matthews, Required Veterinarian 
    Term: 2023-2024
  • Ms. Maggie Whitt, Required Animal Welfare Representative and Appointed by Council as Chair
    Term: 2022-2023
  • Jaskiran Kaur, Required Citizen
    Term: 2023-2024
  • Stephanie Atwell, Required Citizen, Vice Chair
    Term: 2022-2023
  • Sgt. Jason Smith, Required Municipal Officer appointee 
    Term: 2022-2022
  • Tammy Drake, ACO, Required appointee
    Term: 2023-2024


The Animal Shelter Advisory Committee meets to discuss ideas that will help ensure that the animal shelter is in compliance with the state department of health rules pertaining to animal shelters.

The Animal Shelter Advisory Committee is a Council-appointed committee composed of 1 licensed veterinarian, 1 municipal official, 1 person whose duties include the daily operation of the animal shelter and is employed by the city as an Animal Control Officer, 1 representative from an animal welfare organization and 2 citizens.