Murphy Community Development Corporation


  • Monthly (as needed)   
  • City Council Chambers
    206 N. Murphy Rd.
    Murphy, TX 75094


  • Ms. Lequita Davenport, President
    Term: 2019 - 2020
  • Ms. Sharon Kindall, Vice President
    Term: 2020 - 2021
  • Ms. Margaret Malone, Secretary
    Term 2019 - 2020
  • Mr. Nadeem Khan
    Term: 2019 - 2020

  • Mr. LeKevin Lias
    Term: 2020 - 2021
  • Ms. Susy Ninan
    Term: 2020 - 2021
  • Ms. Joy Tresp
    Term: 2020 - 2021


The Murphy Community Development Corporation is a council-appointed board that plans and initiates projects on the city’s behalf that promote community enhancements such as parks, related open space improvements, and economic development.

The mission of the Murphy Community Development Corporation (MCDC) is to enhance the quality of life for the residents of the City of Murphy by facilitation the development of parks, open spaces, community facilities, City beautification and a vibrant economic base.  The MCDC will seek to maintain Murphy as a family oriented community that partners with the City administration to promote transparent operations, citizen involvement and fiscal responsibility. 

  • Facilitate the development of community assets such as parks, recreation/community facilities, and open spaces. 
  • Promote efforts to enhance the attractiveness of the City.
  • Support community programs and events that serve the interests of our residents.
  • Assist in the expansion of the local tax base through the creation of jobs with efforts to attract new businesses and retain existing businesses.

Funding for these projects is provided by ½ of 1% of sales tax revenue dollars generated from sales that are subject to general sales tax within the City of Murphy.